GPU error/crashes

Need help?
Post Reply
User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

GPU error/crashes

Post by Swanny-CG » Sun Nov 03, 2013 1:57 pm

Guys,

I got BF4 but I can only play for a few minutes before I crash with this error:
Error.jpg
When I first was playing I would see a lot of video artifacts on the screen that would start to obscure my vision, then the error. I got rid of those by setting the physx processor to CPU in the Nvidia control panel.

I have also tried going to a driver one version earlier
Setting my profile slightly different (I believe it was GstRender.OverallGraphicsQuality 1 which I changed from 0)
Removing all nvidia crap except for the driver
Checking for DirectX and any other updates

Any ideas? A lot of people are seeing this but one guy said his video card had gone bad. Mine meets the minimum specs but my PC is now 5 or 6 years old. I don't know if my card might be bad or what but it seems OK for everything else and isn't overheating (doesn't go above 85 C).

If you all have any ideas I'd love to hear them. As of now I can't even play campaign mode.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
prophet
BF4 Admin
BF4 Admin
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:29 am
United States of America

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by prophet » Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:41 pm

you need to update your driver to the latest.


What is your specs?
Intel i5 3570k 3.4ghz
ASUS P877 V-LX Mobo
8gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
EVGA 670GTX FTW 2gigs
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
Thermaltake 850W
Antec 1200 Case
Image

User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by Swanny-CG » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:50 pm

I downgraded the driver to one version earlier because the latest version had the issue.

Intel Quad core proc @ 2.4 GHz
8 GB RAM
GeForce GTX 560
500 GB SATA drive
Win7 Home Premium 64 bit
Image

User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by Swanny-CG » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:30 pm

Just so we're square:
Error2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
Nightstalker
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:29 pm
United States of America

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by Nightstalker » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:58 pm

Swanny is complaining about something saying he is HUNG .... sheeesh. I wish I had that problem :23:

Sry .. could not help it ... best of luck with the GPU problem.
Image
God bless the past and present men and women in uniform.
Like sands through the hourglass, these are the days of our lives. This is Nightstalker and this is EA117.

User avatar
toolman
BF4 Admin
BF4 Admin
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:12 am
Location: Toledo OH
United States of America

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by toolman » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:04 am

did you try doing a repair install through origin since you changed your settings?

go to origin, and somewhere in the options is a repair install.

if it's any consolation my puter and vid card struggle with bf4 also...but the fact is there is a crapload of buggy-ness with practically everything BF4 right now.

I do suggest keeping an eye on your driver updates as both Nvidia and AMD are getting run over by people having issues with BF4 even on the high end cards.
professional driver. closed course. do not attempt.

Image

Image

User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by Swanny-CG » Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:19 am

I tried playing in windowed mode which wasn't fantastic but it went a lot longer. The other thing is when it finally gave up the ghost it didn't just crash BF4, it hung the entire PC and I had to hard power it down.

I actually got through a couple missions though :D
Image

User avatar
toolman
BF4 Admin
BF4 Admin
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:12 am
Location: Toledo OH
United States of America

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by toolman » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:10 pm

make sure all your CPU's are not "parked"

I did this today and found that 3 were "parked" (I believe based on some power save setting somewhere) and once I un-parked them it was like night and day as far as playability.....and I'm betting it would have not crashed during single player had I set it up like that before.

MY fps are now steady (40+) and through the couple games I have played since.

Here is a utility that I used to make it easy. http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-C/D ... ng-Utility
professional driver. closed course. do not attempt.

Image

Image

User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by Swanny-CG » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:17 pm

Well none show parked but thanks for the tip.

I have had better luck with an older driver, version 320.49, the minimum the game won't bitch about. If I stay in windowed mode it seems OK for the most part but still the driver errors out eventually and BF4 hangs. I haven't had to reboot the whole box again.

I don't know if I should wait for drivers, look at a better card, or what. Seems like if I wait it's kind of a gamble that it will ever get fixed.
Image

OREX
Server Admin
Server Admin
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:44 pm

Re: GPU error/crashes

Post by OREX » Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:14 pm

My Gigabyte GTX660 was doing that with BF3 and I sent it back under warranty. Since they returned it I have had very few problems with that error. In fact I'm feeling PC blessed right now. It sucks when people have to restart their PC's midgame. My crashes mostly occur when the next map starts to load. I thought that AMD might be the way to go with BF4 but one of the guys I game with crashes repeatedly during seige of shanghai and he has a new AMD card. Maybe he got a bum card?

Post Reply