Sound dies after Win10 upgrade

Need help?
MuzzleTough
Iceland

Sound dies after Win10 upgrade

Post by MuzzleTough »

Hi everyone,

When playing BF42 there seems to be a keystroke/mouse button combination that I haven't figured out yet, that causes a tiny window to open with a bar graph (disappears immediately) and my sound quits. I just lowered sound settings to see if that helps. Haven't tested it yet.

This never occurred before. Most recent change was Win10 update (and maybe proprietary updates as well ... i'll check).

To resolve: I have to quit the game and return.

Typically, once I quit the game and drop back into windows desktop I check sound and it is operating fine. I go back into the game and I have sound till the next time.

I noticed once that this seemed to happen with a keystroke/mouse button combination, but can't be sure.

Any ideas? Anyone else with this problem?

Thanks,

Rob
I used to be a pacifist, then I started playing BF.
MuzzleTough
Trench
Admin
Admin
United States of America

Re: Sound dies after Win10 upgrade

Post by Trench »

Never had that kind of issue related to sound, but certain video drivers (Intel in my experience) come with hot keys enabled by default for accessing features. I always forget to turn them off after rebuilding one of my wife's computers, until she comes home with her screen accidentally rotated 180 degrees asking WTF. Maybe whatever video and/or sound card drivers are running on your computer now have some kind of hot key combination enabled we're not aware of.