Page 1 of 1

Might be a while...

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:57 pm
by pistol
Installing BF1942 on Windows 10. Can't even get the basic game to run. At all. Like you click the executable and nothing happens.

Been going thru the countless forum posts here for solution but so far no dice.

So it might be a while til I'm gunning down Jagd & Cheese again....
:29:

Re: Might be a while...

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:18 pm
by Mali Mrav
1. Enable DirectPlay. (Windows 10 systems only)

Battlefield 1942 works great with Windows 10. But the Windows 10 platforms come with the legacy DirectX "DirectPlay" support disabled by default. Windows will attempt to prompt you to enable DirectPlay if you try to launch Battlefield 1942 without enabling DirectPlay first, but when the game is attempting to launch in full-screen mode you may or may not ever actually see this prompt.

So it is safest to enable the Windows 10 "DirectPlay" functionality first, before installing or launching the Battlefield 1942 game. To enable the DirectPlay feature, start by right-clicking (not a normal left-click) on the Windows "Start" menu icon:

Zoom in (real dimensions: 1100 x 619)Image

Select "Control Panel" from the menu that appears, and in the Control Panel select the link for "Uninstall a program" in the "Programs" section. Select the link "Turn Windows features on or off" in the "Programs and Features" page, and then scroll down to find "Legacy Components". Expand "Legacy Components" and select the checkbox beside "DirectPlay" in that list. Press OK to save, and Windows will confirm successfully enabling the feature.

Re: Might be a while...

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:21 am
by Trench
Yeah, Mali is quoting the first step shown in HOW TO: Use the CD-based Battlefield 1942 game to play on the EA117 server, which for Windows 10 systems is to enable DirectPlay.

Windows 10 is /trying/ to be helpful and prompt you "The current application is trying to use DirectPlay, would you like to install DirectPlay?" But because the game had already started drawing its own graphics screen via DirectX, the Windows prompt can end up in the background and "invisible" to the user trying to launch the game.

So pre-enabling DirectPlay on Windows 10 can prevent these kinds of "the game just hangs" symptoms from occurring, at least for this particular reason & root cause.

-Trench

Re: Might be a while...

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:48 pm
by pistol
thanks guys. finally figured out it was the firewall - just have to turn it off to play.
Just waitin on Trench's approval of my IP - since I haven't been here since 2016 !!

Re: Might be a while...

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:39 pm
by Trench
Yeah, your IP address is taken care of, and is in your PM inbox.

That sucks to have to turn off the firewall. The Windows built-in firewall would normally prompt you whether to allow the game to open listening ports, and whether it should only be done on Windows "Public" and/or "Private" networks.

But if you have a third-party firewall, the functionality is up to them, and it may very well have not prompted you and/or is waiting for you to take some other kind of action to permit the game to pass through the firewall without having to disable the whole thing.

You do not want to see what Mali will hack in and put onto your computer, so you should probably get that firewall turned back on whenever you can... ;)

-Trench