Page 1 of 1

black screen when i join server

Posted: February 7th, 2021, 11:58 pm
by boom
new pc all worked good until 1 week ago join ea clisck starting screen screen goes black i need to press ESC twice to play normaly
is there a fix?

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 8th, 2021, 8:03 am
by Trench
Once you've installed Team-SiMPLE's normal fixed BF1942.EXE (Step 8 in the http://ea117.com/dcinstall instructions), the graphic resolutions offered inside the game should be "exactly the graphic resolutions offered by your video card." Rather than the fixed hard-coded list of 800x600, 1024x768, etc., that the game otherwise offers.

Have you installed that updated BF1942.EXE? If not, I would try installing that and see how much of the problem remains. If the problem continues even with the updated BF1942.EXE, or you already have it installed, what graphic resolution is currently selected in-game? Is it the same as the desktop resolution your new PC normally runs Windows at? e.g. Both the Windows desktop and the game are running at 1920x1080 or similar.


Other discussion:

There are certainly a lot of folks who report "getting a black screen" as one of the problems they have had with Battlefield 1942. Such as this discussion here on Team-SiMPLE, although I personally would not attempt using any of the solutions attempted by the original poster in that thread. i.e. The BF1942CF.EXE and the Wine3D package. Neither of these should be required for successfully playing on Windows 10; nor can I vouch for how "safe" BF1942CF.EXE is, whatever that is.


What I do think has merit in that thread is the information in the post by NUKE, about how switching the game resolution to 800x600 made his behavior go away. And then by manually editing the BF1942.EXE binary file as recommended by Team-SiMPLE's tuia on bfmods.com, to eliminate "BF1942.exe is hardcoded to start at 800x600 and after it reads values from game.setGameDisplayMode", such that he could run his actual preferred resolution again.

Meaning instead of the code currently in BF1942.EXE that tries to always run at 800x600, they modify the BF1942.EXE to default to whatever screen resolution the player actually intends to normally play at. So that the game isn't switching back and forth between 800x600 and some other resolution, on the premise that in some machines this switching leads to the "black screen" issue. That chosen resolution is of course different for each user, which is why the change has to be customized, and isn't just a "here, it's fixed" kind of change that can be provided.


Note that not just on Team-SiMPLE, but in many places I've seen folks recommend that you need to set every Battlefield 1942-related process to XP compatibility mode and Run as Administrator. Personally, I've only ever set BF1942.EXE itself to XP compatibility & Run as Administrator, and even that is automatically done by tuia's BF1942.EXE patch. (Step 8 in the http://ea117.com/dcinstall instructions.) Note that in the BFMods.com post cited above, tuia also indicated that programs like Blackscreen.exe aren't even being used any more after the latest Battlefield 1942 1.61 patches. So I really don't think "set all programs including Blackscreen.exe to XP compatibility" is really the answer, either.

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 17th, 2021, 12:20 pm
by Trench
Trench wrote: February 8th, 2021, 8:03 am That chosen resolution is of course different for each user, which is why the change has to be customized, and isn't just a "here, it's fixed" kind of change that can be provided.
I stand corrected. Bud over at Team-SiMPLE just pointed to someone who recently posted (last year) a fix to the BF1942.EXE which simply mirrors whatever your game resolution is to also be the menu resolution:

https://bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47957

Anyone currently "stuck" at getting a black screen because the game is attempting 800x600 and something about the graphics drivers don't support that resolution: You will need to edit the video.con file as shown, so that the game knows to start up in you preferred & supported resolution, or at least some resolution other than 800x600.

Those who aren't "stuck" at a black screen can simply apply the file, and will see their menu resolution change to whatever their game resolution is.

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 21st, 2021, 1:14 pm
by Mali Mrav
Hey Trench
i tried all the steps for boom and he still get black screen when he join server and press to choose weapon
dont understand why
can you help him when u have time
i mean he can join after clicking escape button but its anoying for him to do it all the time
but only dc not bf42
i set all the profiles to his native resolution and still he get black screen
tnx in advance

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 22nd, 2021, 7:36 am
by Mali Mrav
Boom changed to his old monitor and no problem with game
why is that

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 22nd, 2021, 1:38 pm
by Trench
That still sounds like "my computer maybe can't display 800x600 successfully any more" or similar. What graphics modes your video card can offer or support depends on what capabilities it knows it has through the monitor connection. So indeed, the resolutions offered and supported through the video card driver likely changed with one monitor connected versus the other monitor.

Was the BF1942.EXE from https://bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47957 already used? Because again, with that BF1942.EXE applied, we should no longer be in a "BF1942.EXE tries to run at 800x600, in addition to then also running in whatever your selected game resolution is."

With the fixed BF1942.EXE applied, both the menu and the game should run in whatever the selected game resolution is. So if it's going to be "black screen" for either scenario, its going to be black screen for both scenarios. But presumably you wouldn't choose a game resolution that wasn't supported. Nor be able to, because a mode the video driver can't support won't be offered if you have Team-SiMPLE's BF1942.EXE or this BFMODS BF1942.EXE applied.

The "problem" with 800x600 is that BF1942.EXE, including Team-SiMPLE's BF1942.EXE, tries to run at 800x600 regardless of whether the driver says it can support it or not. The BFMODS BF1942.EXE is the only one that addresses that, to eliminate the hard-coded 800x600 attempt. But someone who's computer still happily supports 800x600 would never know or never care to address this.

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 22nd, 2021, 7:15 pm
by HairyRussianDude
Trench wrote: February 22nd, 2021, 1:38 pm the resolutions offered and supported through the video card driver likely changed with one monitor connected versus the other monitor.
Many years ago I had two video cards for my piece of crap computer.
It was when Oblivion came out, very graphics intensive at the time.
For whatever reason, the card I could use for Oblivion would not play 1942 for me. So depending on which game I wanted to play, I had to shut down and plug a different graphics card in!

Re: black screen when i join server

Posted: February 22nd, 2021, 9:28 pm
by Trench
I think the most recent example I saw was when my wife's work shipped her one of those Dell 34" curved Ultrasharp super-wide monitors. 3440x1440 native, and seems like there were a couple "traditional resolutions" that no longer got offered by the video card once connected.