How to get PB working for BF1942

Need help?
Forum rules
Tech Support Forum Guidelines

Need some help? Come ask here and the community will do it's best to help you out. The rules to the forums are simple and are enforced so please abide by the rules

1. No disrespecting of other users
2. No usage of coarse language
3. No "private/personal talk" related to sex etc
4. No Spamming, Flooding, Caps-Spamming
5. No racial slurs or connotations, harassment, derogatory comments directed at other users, or allowed for Account Names, Clan Names/Tags.
6. No promoting or providing links to any malicious or pornographic websites
7. NO ADVERTISING/SPAMMING PLEASE IN ANY FORUM

ACCEPT THIS ANSWER MOD: This mod gives the topic starter the option of accepting one answer and mark the topic as solved. To accept an answer, click on the green check mark next to the "report this post" button on the answer of the person that best helped you

How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:14 pm

This information came from Lin from MoonGamers.

On Feb 3, 2010, EA quietly discontinued PunkBuster support for BF1942. We recently looked for BF1942 support on Evenbalance and could not find the pages. PBsetup.exe, on a fresh install, does not list BF1942. We sent a ticket to Evenbalance and were told that EA has discontinued support for BF1942. A ticket has been sent to EA to confirm, and to see if there is anything we can do to continue support for the game. No response has been received, but it was only sent earlier today.

What does this mean to the average player? If you're playing and you're not having issues with PB, it doesn't mean anything...yet. If you're a new player, or an older player who has had to reinstall on a freshly formatted hard drive, you will have much difficulty trying to get past the ubiquitous PunkBuster failure gray text.

* If you are currently playing without any PB issues, stop here. You do not need to update anything, just keep playing...for now.
* If you are a current player and have recently reinstalled the game and still have PBsetup.exe installed, check to see if BF1942 is on the list. If it is, you are fine and should be able to continue using PBsetup.exe for BF1942 updates...for now.
* If you are a new player, or are reinstalling on a freshly formatted hard drive, you will need to follow the steps below to reinstall a working PB for BF1942.


Updated 02/12/2010:
If one of the following fixes doesn't work, the other should. :)
The easiest fix is #1.

Fix #1 (from TankPanZeR at ATF Clan):
http://www.moongamers.com/forum/index.p ... ntry595404


Fix #2:
Download the following files for 1942; do not start your game until all steps have been completed:
http://www.moongamers.com/files/pbsetup.zip
- Save to your BF1942 game pb folder and then install this app; it will self-update, and you will not see 1942 in the game list at this time.

Your BF1942 game folder may be different if it was installed in a custom location.

Update 02/09/2010:
We have not been able to test the following information, but we have had players indicate success with the following file(s).

First, use the pbsetup.exe as above and allow it to update. Just to keep things simple, I would execute that file from your BF1942 game pb folder. Then:

pbgame.htm - (right click and choose "save link as" or "save file as") This file contains an instruction to list BF1942 in the games dropdown. After installing and updating pbsetup.exe, download this and drop it into the pb folder for BF1942, overwriting the other one. Start pbsetup.exe again, and this time you should see BF1942 in the list. This alone has worked for most.

For others, we have been told by some members that this works in conjunction with:

pbsvc.exe - In the latest PunkBuster information found here, Evenbalance indicates that this file is "To manually install/uninstall the components, users may use our PBSVC Setup Program." However, they do not give instructions on how to use this exe file. Again, I would save it to your BF1942 pb folder and execute from there.

I don't know which, or if both, of these files are necessary. Please let us know if these work for you, and which file(s) you used, and how. Good luck!


Fix #1 from TankPanZeR from the ATF Clan seems to be working well for most people with PB issues.

You can download that self installer from here:

TanksPBupdate.zip

Or use the link to MoonGamers on top and download it from there.


Also from pbbans.com comes this PB autoinstaller.
The installer copy the files to the Battlefield folder and then launchs the PBSV from EvenBalance wich install the punkbuster service and tests it .

After the install just remember to activate punkbuster inside the game

Punkbuster42.zip
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby tona » Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:23 am

In our clan, several of us have simply made copies of the latest updated pb files and saved them to a created folder. When we know of someone who has recently reinstalled the game, we email the files to them. All they have to do is drop them in the pb folder and they should be good to go.

I have done this for two people in the past week and have had no issues. We are going to have to take care of one another.
User avatar
tona
Member
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:51 am
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:34 am

Agreed tona, I think that is what fix #1 does.
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby tona » Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:42 am

Specialist wrote:Agreed tona, I think that is what fix #1 does.


I get "server not found" when I click on the links.
User avatar
tona
Member
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:51 am
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:23 am

Okay, links are fixed.
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Uranus Reamerz » Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:58 pm

well I jus got a new hard drive loaded and patched up ... and then whack .. I couldnt get PB right ... Finially I found Specs discussion on the Moongamerz site ... Wonderful ... a one stop shop .... it was quicker than anything previously available actually. Thanks Soooo Much. However ... Please amend , delete or what ever all previous discussion about PB ... as I spend a number of hours wading thru the old stuff ... pissing blood and crying about never playing DC again. Us ol guyz cant take a lotta wading thru computer jibberish to end in failure ... Its not healthy!
Uranus Reamerz
Member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Swanny-CG » Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:37 pm

Yeah, we really oughtta put it RIGHT at the top, so it's the first thing you see when you come in looking for a technical solu... OH, WAIT.
Image
User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
 
Posts: 1966
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Uranus Reamerz » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:40 pm

ya you got it at the top now ... but last week when I was following your very nice recipe and links for reinstall ... It was another story. Again thx for all yer efforts ... to get me back in the shilka. I would highly suggest that players who reformat ... or install a new O/S .. ie windows 7 save their existing PB setup files etc to disk. also if you can put an in game message up it may help as I notice there are still players with PB issues, That is if you haven't done so ... you guyz are so good at anticipating that you make me look ... like an ol man
Uranus Reamerz
Member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Lin » Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:03 am

tona wrote:I have done this for two people in the past week and have had no issues. We are going to have to take care of one another.


AGREED!! We'll continue to help support all clans and communities every way we can in order to keep this game alive. Playing with others is much more fun than playing with yourself. ;)
Lin
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:11 am

Lin wrote:Playing with others is much more fun than playing with yourself. ;)


Now that is kinky.
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby RoLnRoCk » Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:50 am

i've tried both fixes, neither works for some reason. i keep getting a message spammed in the console about ignoring mdst tool queries or some bs. it repeats a few hundred times then i get the boot. gonna have my techy bro look into it, but i'm stumped. haven't played in a week :(
Image
User avatar
RoLnRoCk
Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Sandy Eggo, CA
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby tona » Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:55 am

RoLnRoCk wrote:i've tried both fixes, neither works for some reason. i keep getting a message spammed in the console about ignoring mdst tool queries or some bs. it repeats a few hundred times then i get the boot. gonna have my techy bro look into it, but i'm stumped. haven't played in a week :(


You may have to uninstall the game and do a reinstall.
"Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other" John Adams
User avatar
tona
Member
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:51 am
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Lin » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:36 am

RoLnRoC have you fixed this yet? Did the reinstall work for you? If so let us know so others will also know what to do if they encounter the MD5 tool kicks. :)
Lin
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby RoLnRoCk » Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:15 am

yes, apologies. my brother fixed this with the files that the moongamers website provided. spec, i've been meaning to tell you that one of the links on your copied post does not work, we had to go to the moongamers forums to get it. its the pbgame.htm missing link. thats what fixed it for me. thanks, if you have any other questions, ask my brother retrocausality. he's the tech whiz/gamer, i'm just the beach bum/gamer.
roln
Image
User avatar
RoLnRoCk
Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Sandy Eggo, CA
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Lin » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:05 am

Glad to be of service, sir! Now go and kill AIDS for me please. :mrgreen:
Lin
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:21 pm

RoLnRoCk wrote: spec, i've been meaning to tell you that one of the links on your copied post does not work, we had to go to the moongamers forums to get it. its the pbgame.htm missing link. thats what fixed it for me.


I checked the links on this page and they both are working, is the link on another thread?
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Slagothor » Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:59 pm

Thanks Lin for posting to the forums and everyone else who helped out. The first thing I'm moving into the new apartment is my rigs. All comms should already be set up. So what's the second part of my move going to be...playing DCF of course! I'll see all of you soon. Thanks again all for keeping this game alive.

-Jesse
Slagothor
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby RoLnRoCk » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:44 am

http://www.moongamers.com/files/pbgame.htm
listed as pbgame.htm
and
http://www.moongamers.com/files/pbsvc.exe
listed as pbsvc.exe

both links are active in the moongamers forum post but not in the copied one here
Image
User avatar
RoLnRoCk
Member
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Sandy Eggo, CA
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby LF55 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:21 pm

Dan, Jason, et al thanks for putting this info on the boards. I just upgraded from XP-SP3 to Win 7 x 64 and the new install of DC and the ever troublesome Punkbuster went smooth thanks to you. All operating without issue.
How can you shoot women or children?
Easy! Ya just don't lead 'em so much! Ain't war hell?


Image
User avatar
LF55
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Harrisburg PA

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Silent Soldier » Sat Mar 20, 2010 11:56 am

I am having problems with Pb setup. I am trying to install it on a new system with Windows 7 ultimate. Solution #1 is not working, and for #2 Windows 7 is not letting me save these files in the pb folder even though I am using the administrator account. Thanks for help in advance.
Silent Soldier
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:25 pm

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Specialist » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:24 pm

Silent Soldier wrote:I am having problems with Pb setup. I am trying to install it on a new system with Windows 7 ultimate. Solution #1 is not working, and for #2 Windows 7 is not letting me save these files in the pb folder even though I am using the administrator account. Thanks for help in advance.



I must of missed this post..

Silent Soldier, did you get this working yet?
User avatar
Specialist
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
SILENCE! I STAB YOU!
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
National Flag:
United States of America

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby not me » Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:28 am

Hi All
I have made a side for PB update instruction in german and englisch.
And it Works.
Go to http://hhdmember.npage.de/
not me
 

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby i_am_not_your_father » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:12 pm

When I join a map now, 2-3 mins into the game my screen shows the message "punkbuster client: O/S Exception notice" accompanied with a beep. It keeps echoing that message for another 2mins and then I get kicked by punkbuster.

I asked some players during game time who have the same OS (Win 7 ) and apparently I seem to be the only one seeing this error. Has anyone else seen this? I am running the 64-bit version.

IANYF
User avatar
i_am_not_your_father
Server Admin
Server Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:55 am

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby Swanny-CG » Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:16 pm

I think that used to have to do with no having Admin rights on the machine. Perhaps now it has something to do with UAC?

If I'm wrong, sorry - it's just a guess.
Image
User avatar
Swanny-CG
Server Admin
Server Admin
 
Posts: 1966
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Bay Area, California

Re: How to get PB working for BF1942

Postby i_am_not_your_father » Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:27 pm

Swanny-CG wrote:I think that used to have to do with no having Admin rights on the machine. Perhaps now it has something to do with UAC?

If I'm wrong, sorry - it's just a guess.

It has been working with UAC ON before... that's weird

I just turned UAC off (although not recommended) and restarted my box. 7 mins into the game and haven't been kicked by punkbuster. So it is looking good.

Thanks

IANYF
User avatar
i_am_not_your_father
Server Admin
Server Admin
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:55 am

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron