tracert for new server

Post Reply
User avatar
Mali Mrav
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: January 2nd, 2015, 1:53 pm
Contact:
Croatia

tracert for new server

Post by Mali Mrav » August 26th, 2020, 2:47 pm

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert.exe 3.131.39.197

Tracing route to ec2-3-131-39-197.us-east-2.compute.amazonaws.com [3.131.39.197]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
2 9 ms 12 ms 7 ms cpe-94-253-168-1.zg.cable.xnet.hr [94.253.168.1]
3 13 ms 16 ms 13 ms dh70-62.xnet.hr [83.139.70.62]
4 15 ms 14 ms 16 ms dh70-61.xnet.hr [83.139.70.61]
5 * * 25 ms 195.3.114.229
6 23 ms 20 ms 21 ms lg36-9074.as8447.a1.net [195.3.64.133]
7 22 ms 21 ms 21 ms lg1-9071.as8447.a1.net [195.3.64.14]
8 23 ms 21 ms 21 ms 80.150.170.37
9 122 ms 123 ms 124 ms was-sa3-i.WAS.US.NET.DTAG.DE [62.154.5.233]
10 123 ms 123 ms 123 ms 87.186.183.38
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 142 ms 146 ms 142 ms 54.239.43.159
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * 141 ms 52.93.132.77
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 141 ms 141 ms 143 ms 52.93.239.61
28 141 ms 147 ms 145 ms 52.95.2.19
29 143 ms 143 ms 144 ms 52.95.1.246
30 145 ms 146 ms 150 ms 15.230.39.19

Trace complete.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>


dont know why i have this much times out
Silent Assassin

User avatar
Trench
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2154
Joined: May 22nd, 2012, 3:19 am
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth
Contact:
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by Trench » August 26th, 2020, 3:41 pm

Except for the fact that you actually got some responses down at hop 30, what you showed there seemed like it was typical of trying to trace a host that doesn't respond to ICMP Echo (ping). These days, most any operating system doesn't respond to ICMP Echo as a default security posture, unless you enable it. The current EA117 server is not configured to allow ICMP Echo, and will not respond. We had even turned it off on the old Texas server, because although it wasn't the major component, it was being used as an additional component to the attacks.

Any hop in a traceroute which doesn't respond to ICMP Echo will show as "timed out", but the next hop may be responsive. But if the host at the IP address you're trying to trace (3.131.39.197 in this case) doesn't respond to ICMP Echo, traceroute "has no idea that the trace has ended", and keeps trying to reach "the next hop after" 3.131.39.197. Which doesn't exist; and neither does the next hop, or the next hop, etc., until the hop limit is exhausted.

In the trace you just showed though, it's suggesting the route to the server actually was even longer than 30 hops. If I tell traceroute to allow for up to 50 hops instead of the default 30, and then try to trace the path back to your router (94.253.168.1 shown in the trace you posted) from the server, indeed I get a route that looks longer than 30 hops.

But, when coming from my direction towards you, either the hops after we entered the A1.NET network all choose not to respond to external ICMP Echo requests (since they did respond to yours), or the A1.NET routers aren't configured to allow the ICMP Echo requests to pass through. Since we didn't get any further responses after entering the A1.NET network:
tracert -h 50 94.253.168.1 wrote: Tracing route to cpe-94-253-168-1.zg.cable.xnet.hr [94.253.168.1]
over a maximum of 50 hops:

1 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 100.65.11.65
8 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 15.230.39.173
9 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 15.230.39.180
10 1 ms 2 ms 3 ms 52.95.2.155
11 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 100.92.53.120
12 10 ms 10 ms 11 ms 100.92.48.2
13 11 ms 10 ms 13 ms 100.92.48.19
14 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 100.92.51.18
15 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 100.92.51.11
16 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms 54.240.229.195
17 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 100.91.31.227
18 10 ms 10 ms 11 ms 52.93.238.163
19 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 150.222.76.56
20 14 ms 10 ms 12 ms chi-b22-link.telia.net [62.115.188.168]
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 122 ms 124 ms 122 ms ldn-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.113.21]
23 119 ms 119 ms 119 ms prs-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.123.69]
24 121 ms 121 ms 122 ms ffm-bb1-link.telia.net [62.115.123.12]
25 121 ms 121 ms 121 ms win-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.137.203]
26 119 ms 119 ms 119 ms win-b2-link.telia.net [62.115.114.185]
27 119 ms 119 ms 119 ms a1telekom-svc067740-lag003017.c.telia.net [62.115.183.245]
28 122 ms 122 ms 122 ms 195.3.68.57
29 123 ms 123 ms 123 ms lg35-9077.as8447.a1.net [195.3.64.130]
30 * * * Request timed out.
31 * * * Request timed out.
32 * * * Request timed out.
33 * * * Request timed out.
34 * * * Request timed out.
35 * * * Request timed out.
36 * * * Request timed out.
37 * * * Request timed out.
38 * * * Request timed out.
39 * * * Request timed out.
40 * * * Request timed out.
41 * * * Request timed out.
42 * * * Request timed out.
43 * * * Request timed out.
44 * * * Request timed out.
45 * * * Request timed out.
46 * * * Request timed out.
47 * * * Request timed out.
48 * * * Request timed out.
49 * * * Request timed out.
50 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Bottom line is that yes, it looks like the route between this server and your XNET.HR ISP involves many hops. Although I wasn't expecting anything major, I would have suspected your ping might improve a little with the server in Ohio, since it's a little closer to where the cable crosses the Atlantic Ocean than Texas is. But physical distance isn't everything in Internet communication.

BangBangOw<CP*SF>
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 22nd, 2018, 7:31 pm
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BangBangOw<CP*SF> » August 26th, 2020, 6:02 pm

I have no idea what I just read.

That’s like ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics to me, lol.

User avatar
HairyRussianDude
Admin
Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: September 6th, 2016, 9:58 am
Canada

Re: tracert for new server

Post by HairyRussianDude » August 26th, 2020, 6:11 pm

BangBangOw<CP*SF> wrote:
August 26th, 2020, 6:02 pm
I have no idea what I just read.

That’s like ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics to me, lol.
Let the puter illiterate guy who learns from this forum try here...

In layman's terms, your PC is not directly connected to the server via one solid cable. You connect to some pedestals around your city, to your ISP's central office, then to some other places I don't know terms for, then probably to some other ISP's central office (ex: my ISP does not exist in the US so I have to piggyback on your guy's fiber lines eventually), then the server itself eventually.
Those are all Mali's stops along the way from his PC to the server, with the time it takes to bounce a signal from the PC to each stop. But some stops aren't giving that information.

Do I get a cookie Trench???

User avatar
tonawandares
Admin
Admin
Posts: 507
Joined: February 18th, 2014, 7:10 am
Location: Eastern Missouri
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by tonawandares » August 26th, 2020, 6:50 pm

;)
HairyRussianDude wrote:
Let the puter illiterate guy who learns from this forum try here...

In layman's terms, your PC is not directly connected to the server via one solid cable. You connect to some pedestals around your city, to your ISP's central office, then to some other places I don't know terms for, then probably to some other ISP's central office (ex: my ISP does not exist in the US so I have to piggyback on your guy's fiber lines eventually), then the server itself eventually.
Those are all Mali's stops along the way from his PC to the server, with the time it takes to bounce a signal from the PC to each stop. But some stops aren't giving that information.

Do I get a cookie Trench???
To quote someone I heard of once...I have no idea what I just read

~ tona

User avatar
HairyRussianDude
Admin
Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: September 6th, 2016, 9:58 am
Canada

Re: tracert for new server

Post by HairyRussianDude » August 26th, 2020, 7:11 pm

tonawandares wrote:
August 26th, 2020, 6:50 pm
;)
To quote someone I heard of once...I have no idea what I just read

~ tona
Anyone not reaching senility understand what I said? :P

User avatar
BlinkofanEye
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: February 28th, 2018, 8:06 pm
Location: WI
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BlinkofanEye » August 26th, 2020, 7:21 pm

Heh heh...piggyback
Vote for map al_nas?
Yes (7)
Yes (8)

User avatar
BlinkofanEye
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: February 28th, 2018, 8:06 pm
Location: WI
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BlinkofanEye » August 26th, 2020, 7:31 pm

I do wonder though about the new server. Last night I was getting artifacts and player and vehicle movement. Like players walking next to me or driving would suddenly go backward then forward as if it was lagging, even though my ping stayed between 30-50
Vote for map al_nas?
Yes (7)
Yes (8)

User avatar
Trench
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2154
Joined: May 22nd, 2012, 3:19 am
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth
Contact:
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by Trench » August 26th, 2020, 7:54 pm

BlinkofanEye wrote:
August 26th, 2020, 7:31 pm
Last night I was getting artifacts and player and vehicle movement. Like players walking next to me or driving would suddenly go backward then forward as if it was lagging, even though my ping stayed between 30-50
Well, you're closer than pretty much anyone to that server, so I'm not sure how to help you there. Certainly wasn't seeing anything like that from across on the other side of the United States (Texas), and didn't hear anything but negative confirmation that anyone else was seeing it at the same time you were.

No doubt that you're taking a different route to get to the Ohio server than you were for getting to the Texas server, and possibly there is some kind of new network or latency variable that exists now which didn't exist before. But the datacenter and network that the server is on now is even more reputable than the one we were on in Texas. There is nothing "temporary" or "compromise" about the server that we're on now.

Your ISP has always "looked like a VPN" from the EA117's server's perspective, and maybe this new provider is doing something additional in response to that same characteristic. If you have the opportunity to play from somewhere else with a more traditional ISP, maybe see if any of the same observations persist.

User avatar
BlinkofanEye
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: February 28th, 2018, 8:06 pm
Location: WI
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BlinkofanEye » August 26th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Thanks for the clarity trench. Just so we’re totally clear...if fluffy kills me it’s still the internet’s fault.

And my internet setup is a piece of shit. I live on a farm that shares a 20mb line with six people, but my way of sharing it is the router is hooked up to a long range antenna that shoots it out to our cabin which is 1/2 mile away. Could’ve just been someone closer to the antenna on the farm using bandwidth for a Skype call or something who knows. Maybe I’ll try play off the original router some night and compare, just to know what I’m missing...
Vote for map al_nas?
Yes (7)
Yes (8)

BangBangOw<CP*SF>
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 22nd, 2018, 7:31 pm
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BangBangOw<CP*SF> » August 26th, 2020, 9:32 pm

I had 20 ping on the new server, and yeah it felt different. I think it runs smooth, but being used to 60 ping usually.. I mean blink you’re probably just having a unfamiliar ping experience. It’s like playing on AX with 150, seems like a total new world.

User avatar
BlinkofanEye
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: February 28th, 2018, 8:06 pm
Location: WI
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BlinkofanEye » August 27th, 2020, 7:18 am

Guess it's a m00t point for now.

Should be on tonight again I think.
Vote for map al_nas?
Yes (7)
Yes (8)

BangBangOw<CP*SF>
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 22nd, 2018, 7:31 pm
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by BangBangOw<CP*SF> » August 27th, 2020, 10:37 am

Well since the new server still gets attacked. If y’all want me to fire up mine with our versions of Berlin and nas I can get that done. Would just need an admin to send the modded rfa. Or we could go to busters, but that moron last time was kind of annoying.

User avatar
Trench
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2154
Joined: May 22nd, 2012, 3:19 am
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth
Contact:
United States of America

Re: tracert for new server

Post by Trench » August 27th, 2020, 12:20 pm

BangBangOw<CP*SF> wrote:
August 27th, 2020, 10:37 am
Or we could go to busters, but that moron last time was kind of annoying.
Shhhhh.... dude... Blinkofaneye can hear you, he's right there.... 😜


[CG] Busters Playground still sounds fine to me, for what it's worth.

User avatar
Mali Mrav
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: January 2nd, 2015, 1:53 pm
Contact:
Croatia

Re: tracert for new server

Post by Mali Mrav » August 27th, 2020, 12:59 pm

wow
yea mine ping is the same lol
i know it should be lower but it isnt for some reason
atleast boom will have 10 ping now :P

thanks trench for ur input
and all of you others find a new thread to talk ur non sence :P
Silent Assassin

Post Reply